25 October 2011

Yesterday the House of Commons voted on a motion to hold a referendum on Britain’s membership of the EU in effect within a couple of years or so. Polls suggest most people in Britain want a referendum though they are are less clear about what the result would likely be. All three main parties (Conservative, Labour, and Liberal Democrat) were officially opposed to a referendum now.

In the Commons vote all three Libdem MPs from Cornwall voted against the motion for a referendum.

None of the three Conservative MPs for Cornwall voted against the referendum motion. Sheryll Murray voted for a referendum, George Eustice abstained (as he said he would, see Hansard 24 October 2011, column 122-123), and no vote is recorded for Sarah Newton.